Dec 10, 2009
Dec 10, 2009
Dec 10, 2009
Dec 10, 2009

Mortuary Figures of the Zodiac Signs

Mortuary Figures of the Zodiac Signs


Part of a set. See all set records

Gray earthenware with traces of slip

Overall: 22.6 cm (8 7/8 in.)

The Norweb Collection 1972.76


Did you know?

These earthenware mortuary figures appear to have been made in molds.


The twelve-animal zodiac series—rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster, dog, and boar—signifies a traditional Chinese concept of time structured in a cyclical order. The twelve animals are also linked to the art of fortunetelling that underlies human existence in connection with the changes of the universe. The use of the twelve zodiac animals as tomb furniture suggests they provided a cosmological structure for the afterlife.

See also

Contact us

The information about this object, including provenance, may not be currently accurate. If you notice a mistake or have additional information about this object, please email [email protected].

To request more information about this object, study images, or bibliography, contact the Ingalls Library Reference Desk.

All images and data available through Open Access can be downloaded for free. For images not available through Open Access, a detail image, or any image with a color bar, request a digital file from Image Services.